Set permissions on Resources / Rooms to allow Subject and location view only

Follow

Whilst configuring Synergy Join, we advise that the DeleteComments atribute is set to $false

When set to $true, Exchange deletes the body of the meeting invitation when booking a room. As the matching rules rely on reading content in the body of the email, this stops Regex and the Skype URI External rule from working in Synergy Join.

In some circumstances you may not want your domain users to have access to particular meeting information such as the meeting description.  To restrict meeting information from all domain users please follow the steps below.

To amend the attributes on a resource you will need to be logged in as a user that has full access to all resources that you would like to amend. 

  • Right click on the room/resource and select 'Properties'
  • When presented with the below window
    • Select the Name 'Default' 
    • Set the Permission Level to 'Free/Busy time, subject, location'
    • Make sure the 'Free/Busy time, subject, location' radio button is selected
    • Click OK

outlook.png

Performing the above should give you the required results and will only display the Subject and Location of the meeting and will restrict the view of the meeting notes from domain users.

Exchange Management Shell

The above fix can also be achieved by running commands on the Exchange Management Shell

  • Below changes the default permissions so all can see the subject and location

Set-MailboxFolderPermission "roomname\Calendar" -User Default -AccessRights LimitedDetails

 

  • Below allows a group to modify

Set-MailboxFolderPermission "roomname\Calendar" -User "groupname" -AccessRights Editor

Once permission is applied to the room, close and reopen outlook for change to take effect.

If you are still able to view all of the information in the meeting request then you will have to remove the calendar/room from your mailbox and re-add it in order for the changes to take effect

Deleting the OST File

--- The steps below are for use if you are already using Synergy Join and you would like to restrict calendar access / view ---

If the change needs to be done on a large scale (Whole domain) you have will have to delete the OST file and have it re-download the next time outlook opens.(This has to be done on a user’s computer)

You will know if the domain uses cached exchange mode by looking at the picture below.  If exchange does not use cached exchange mode then the box titled 'Use Cached Exchange Mode' will be unticked and you can skip this step.

outlook2.png 

To get to this screen you go to File > Account Settings > Account settings > ‘Data Files’ tab > ‘Advanced’ tab. To locate the ost file you click on Outlook Data File Settings.

 

Removing Old Entries in Outlook Calendar/Resource

Method below is for deleting all of the records in a Resource / Room Calendar.

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. On the Viewtab, in the Current View group, click Change View, and then click List.
  3. Click in the item list, and then select the items you would like to delete

All required items in the list should now be selected.

  1. Press DELETE.

Archiving from a persons calendar/mailbox can be done by following these instructions

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments